French Food Rules

JackieOnLine

Staff member
I ran into an interview with Karen Le Billon who writes about teaching her children to eat the French way. She just wrote a book called Getting To Yum, but the thing that really interested me was she says the food in French Schools is much better quality than in this country (real food! slow food!) but it costs less.

for what it's worth, here is a link; she says the same rules apply to adults except for #1 of course. nothing makes me crankier than someone saying I can't snack between meals but that doesn't mean she is wrong.

French Food Rules

I was a university student when I lived in France. Everyone was on the meal plan because the food was so good. It was cafeteria style dining and you could get all you wanted. The 'best' dining hall was quite a distance from where I lived so I tended to bike there once or twice a day. If I was hungry when I got home there was also a small cafe in the lobby of my residence. The cafe had mostly fast food type choices like burgers and fries. It was next door to the TV room where they got 3 channels and 2 of them would usually be showing the same program. The only radio station that wasn't classical music was Radio Free Luxembourg!