3 more days! Anything you wish you had done before having the DS?

DBmom23

So exciting that i just have 3 more days (surgery is Tuesday AM at 7:30). Besides following @Larra's advice from an earlier thread to clean my house (sisyphean with 3 kids and a dog that sheds like crazy), is there anything i should do before my new life begins?!?

Also just want to thank everyone for being so supportive--this board has really helped ease my stress level leading up to the surgery knowing how well people are doing on the other side.

If you have not updated your will, trusts, etc., DO IT NOW. I am a lawyer. I had my DS 12 days before my 50th birthday, 22 days before my 5th anniversary. My youngest was still nearly 3 months from turning 18, and I had married my husband after only knowing him 6 months - my friends and family would have KILLED me if I had not put a (lame, self-written) prenup in place - now, it was 5 years later, we were living in another state, had bought a house together - so much had changed and - as a lawyer - I had done next to NOTHING (including creating a trust to own the house) that a reasonable layperson should do. So the day before surgery, we signed papers for reciprocal wills, creating the trust to own the house, retirement and life insurance, created durable powers of attorney and medical powers, and all those grown up things.

I actually felt SO much better having that stuff in place going into surgery. Didn't need it of course, but it was the right thing to do. We've updated the wills since then, but we were already working from a great first draft.

Do ALL the laundry. It'll be a while before you can or want to pick up a laundry basket, and you may go through some extra underwear, just saying'. Go buy yourself some nice perfume, a pack of those Olay wipes, and lip balm to take to the hospital. It'll help you feel less gross. And buy a couple boxes of sugar free popsicles.