Will I Get This Done Before School Starts Again? My Journey

navygrrl

I wanted to start a new journey in case someone like me finds this board and ends of spending way too many hours obsessing about WLS and DS and couldn't find nearly enough blogs (not counting YouTube).

I'm currently 47 (soon to be 48), with three children, one husband, one ex-husband, and three cats. I am a high school English teacher, which is simultaneously as horrifying and wonderful as you might fear. I've only been teaching in public schools for two years. I was an English department lecturer at the university where I received my MFA in Creative Writing, but that was not a tenured position and paid even less than public school teaching.

As mentioned in a previous post (maybe - I have ADHD and use it to my advantage at times to forget things), I served in the US Navy. I've held a lot of jobs (something else to blame on my ADHD) from chiropractic assistant to CNA to office assistant in a grocery store. I like to learn new things and get easily bored (ADHD again - perhaps a pattern?).

I have struggled with my weight most of my life. As I look back on childhood photos, I wish I could tell that little girl that she was beautiful just the way she was, and that whatever unattainable beauty standards my mother had for me had nothing to do with that young girl's worth. Unfortunately, it took me pretty much until now to figure that out.

I have tried most diets and all sorts of exercise. I was actually making good progress in 2017 when I was wearing a size 6 and training for a half-marathon. Then I broke my ankle. I was hopeful, though, that I could ease my way back into running.

Then my son died.