Once Upon a Time, or, Learning the Hard Way

Elizabeth N.

Herder of cats
Freshen your beverage, for EN is about to tell a story.

Long ago in a faraway corner of cyberspace, I entered the world of forum communications, on a PC in the public library. I was looking for support at a very vulnerable time of life; I had just begun exploring issues regarding my personal childhood traumas. That's not something you talk about face to face to strangers. So I started learning how to navigate the Internet, looking for connections with others who had BTDT.

That is how I a met a woman whom I will call Jane.

Jane was a member of what became a very well known forum/website for adult survivors of child abuse where I started participating. She reached out to me in a PM and we became close. She was experienced in the ways of healing, indeed was a LCSW who, she said, had lost her license because a vindictive former client framed her in accusations of misconduct. It all sounded soooo believable.

Jane was always misunderstood wherever she went on forums like that one because of her extensive clinical training and experience. She just couldn't turn off that part of her brain and be a plain old survivor, donchaknow. So forum moderators and hosts always wound up feeling threatened by her. It only made sense for her to start her very own forum, where she could explain herself without fear of being banned.

We became best friends. We spent ages online together. I was so glad to finally have connections, I went and bought my first PC. We had a group of sister survivors, called ourselves a sisterhood on a healing journey. Ah, the things we shared. I had such trust and confidence in Jane.