Revision from VBG to DS, Dr. Greenbaum

Hello everyone.

I have been researching VBG to DS revision for the last 6 years and finally have enough money to self-pay with Dr. Greenbaum.

They are faxing my script to me for an upper GI, so my question is this: where do I go to get an upper GI and do I just call to make the appointment and bring the script to the place? I've usually done all this through insurance in the past for surgeries, but my health insurance doesn't pay for the treatment of morbid obesity, so I will probably be self-paying for the upper GI.

Thanks in advance for your help and guidance.

Sincerely,

ThanksgivingGrrl

Updated to add: my insurance will cover the upper GI, according to the doc's office, but I have a $6K deductible, so eventually I will still pay for the upper GI in the end until my deductible is met, so I will still need to shop around for the best upper GI prices. I know I read a post somewhere that hospitals are usually more expensive and radiology/imaging centers are less expensive for cash prices. Any opinions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much. :)

I hadn't met my deductible either for some of my pre-op testing but I still sent them all through insurance bc they will be adjusted by your insurance co and you'll only have to pay the portion your insurance allows to be billed for each procedure.

I don't know what kind of insurance you have or whether in network vs out of network applies to you but you can ask your insurance co for the name of an imaging center in your area that accepts your insurance.

I was a self pay w Greenbaum too. Good luck!

Ohh thanks so much, Jen. I hadn't thought of that. I'll definitely put the stuff up til surgery through my insurance. I will definitely look and see who's in-network for me for the upper GI. How long ago did you have your surgery? How are you doing so far?

Hi! glad you are here & love the cute dog, too. that your dogger?