Post-Surgery Exercise: Protein Absorption and Weight Training

Dave0168

I haven't been able to find any good information about weight training after a malabsorptive procedure such as the DS or RNY.

In the past three months I've really gotten into weight training along with cardio in a attempt to minimize the loose skin I hope I don't get post procedure. Prior to starting my journey I never did any additional exercise outside of my work which is pretty active during the day (I'm a contractor). Now I get cardio 6x per week with 4 days of weight training and don't want to lose the ability to maintain that schedule after surgery.

My concern relates to the increased protein requirements (above the 90 to 100g/day) needed to build muscle and reduced absorption. I'm by no means looking to become the next Mr. Olympia but would like to be able to continue to add and develop muscle and strength after I can start weight training after my surgery.

Is there anyone here who has followed a similar path after surgery and can offer some insight?

Have you read up on keto for athletes? A good author is Lyle McDonald. He gives some solid references in his work. As you read, keep in mind your malabsorption and Im sure you will figure out a plan that helps you increase muscle.

Nothing you do is going to affect how your skin looks, other than the shape of your musculature UNDER your skin.

Nothing you do is going to affect how your skin looks, other than the shape of your musculature UNDER your skin.
What she said. There is no element of skin that can be influenced one way or another by exercise. The good news is that skin does continue to shrink V E R Y slowly for about 2 years after massive weightloss.

I know I won't be able to avoid loose skin altogether but I was hoping to minimize it as much as possible.

More importantly I am still concerned about absorbing enough protein to build muscle, not just maintain.