UPPER GI BARIUM SWALLOW RESULTS. HELP??

Melanie1218

There is small sliding- type hiatal hernia measuring approximately 3.5 x 3 cm.. There are post surgical changes of gastric bypass. The remnant gastric pouch measures approximately 4 x 7 cm. There is passage of contradt from the remnant gastric pouch through the gastrojejunostomy and into the jejunum. The gastrojejunostomy appears widely patent. No evidence of to suggest a gastro-gastric fistula.

I'm trying to find out if this has any info that would give me more added reason to get insurance approval for revision to DS

I'm not a medical professional, but everything is noted as ok other than you have a hiatal hernia -- which would neither preclude a DS nor show a need to have a revision to DS.

Does anyone know if my pouch size is considered stretched? I know most of your are DSers but anyone knowledgeable with the normal gastric bypass pouch size?

I'm trying to find out if this has any info that would give me more added reason to get insurance approval for revision to DS
I am not 100% sure. The Hiatal hernia is not a justification because those are fixed in normies all the time and doesn't require getting a DS to fix it.

The stoma is "widely patent?" How big? If it is wide open, you are getting no restriction, and food is just falling through the pouch.

I have major dumping too and major weight gain
I understand. Just saying that the hiatal hernia would not cause those things and would not justify the revision. The large Stoma I would think might give ammunition for the medical necessity argument. Dr k and office will be able to advise you as to whether or not he can justify the revision based on medical necessity.