my dog has pancreatitis

JackieOnLine

Staff member
Bunny had one bad bout of it and, sadly, the lab test showed "very high normal" after 2 weeks on the prescription diet (very low fat), making the vet recommend this diet forever. I'm online right now to figure out how to best to do this (probably shop online, maybe chewy.com)

I thought I'd ask about it here since in the facebook group I'm in someone just recommended homeopathy. o_O

despite working in healthcare I have no prior experience with pancreatitis but have been reading online. apparently one of the most common causes in people is alcoholism. in dogs, it's a high fat "indiscretion" like you gave your dog a big plate of turkey/stuffing/gravy or they ate a dead squirrel* or something :sick:

but I am pretty sure Bunny didn't eat anything different so the vet says it's just because she is getting old (11, the equivalent low 60s by the chart) and "can't handle it", meaning normal fat, I guess.

and - how do you figure fat in people food when added to their dog food? (my other dog Fritz is even older and smaller so I'm worried about him, too) - vet says below a certain percentage (it's written down somewhere... one figure for canned dog for and one for dry) but can I add unlimited cheerios? I use those for treats

the facebook group says they can have chicken meat but only white and no skin. well, and some people are feeding raw but I just can't, at least now.

science is hard! :mad: I know other labs being off affects the pancreas and Fritz has something happening because he has started to go through spells where he drinks lots & lots of water but his labs don't show why yet. the dog I had put down last year had that for years: one vet insisted it was his kidneys even though it didn't show in the labs but, eventually, it turned out to be a tumor on his parathyroid gland.