Self-pay through Dr.Rabkin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Platti

Hi there,

Newbie here :) I'm going to be a self pay for a revision to DS through Dr. Rabkin most likely. I say most likely because due to COVID-19, I do not have a lot of the documentation of failed weight loss attempts (such as through Weight Watchers) as I would have and in having lots of time to marinate on the revision at home, I've decided to just pull the trigger and do it.

Has anyone else been a self-pay patient with Dr. Rabkin?

My main question is about his fees - He has his surgeon fees which I will be paying, but would it be possible to bill the rest to my insurance? Or if they try to bill my insurance and they deny the revision to VSG, would they still cover the hospital bills?

Other questions:
  • What was your experience like with Dr.Rabkin? Was he friendly? Attentive? I've been reading about Dr. Keshishian and he has rave reviews about his charming personality but I have seen nothing (good or bad) about Dr.Rabkin
  • Does Dr. Rabkin check in on you in the hospital?
  • How larger is your open surgery scar?
  • How long until you were feeling somewhat recovered and moving around well?
  • any regrets?
  • Complications?
  • advice?
I'm very nervous (more-so than I was when I initially had my VSG done 10 years ago.)
I've slowly regained though my food choices aren't bad (i've been tracking) and have tested my restriction and can eat 1/4-1/2 of a large pizza in one sitting without feeling that icky slime feeling. Overeating is possible but not something that I engage in often as I hate the overly stuffed feeling.
Vitamin levels are good, anemia has always been there.

Any and all advice is welcome, I've lost the majority of my old support system due to relocation and could use kind words :)