Hi from Jen in NC

JenKapNC

Hello to all! I've been investigating WLS for the last two months with some veracity. A co-worker had the SIPS/SADI procedure done here in NC and was having great success with it. I was about 3/4 of the way through pre-op procedures when I heard through one of the local support groups that BCBS of NC was going to stop covering SIPS. Ugh. Back to the drawing board.

I've been doing more research and although the vitamin regimen, my reflux issues and past borderline anemia have me a little concerned about the DS, I truly believe it is the best option for me. I know myself and I'm a cut once kind of gal who needs both a restrictive and malabsorptive procedure.

Based on reviews from this website and others I contacted Dr. Sudan's office in Durham, NC about having them do my DS. His nurse was optimistic that they maybe able to use some of my pre-op tests that I have already obtained (all less than 30 days out).

If anyone has any advice or pointers to offer I am all ears.

Thanks in advance for all your support and it has already been my pleasure to get to know some of you through your posts.

Jen
41 with a BMI of 41

Welcome @JenKapNC

Sorry you had to back up but honestly I didn't know that BCBSNC EVER covered the SIPS unless the doctors were playing fast and loose with the codes for it. But, with that said, at least you have a very good option and can easily transfer to a different surgeon.

I'm also in NC (western NC).

@southernlady