The $17 Gift Chicken!

Munchkin

Full of Fairy Dust
I have a sweet friend who is always bringing me gifts. Sometimes very odd gifts. His last present was a frozen chicken. Nothing he does surprises me so I just said thank you and put the chicken in the freezer. In a way it makes perfect sense. He came over for dinner so he brought me another dinner.

A couple days ago I was cruising the freezer looking for dinner and there was the chicken. When I put it in the fridge to thaw, I noticed the price. He paid $17 for a single chicken! Seriously, I have paid a lot less than that for a turkey. I can get 3 chickens for less than that. Who pays $17 for a chicken?

Sure enough, it's organic and free range. Something I never buy because it's so much more expensive. I am a cheap cook. $5 will buy 10lbs of leg quarters at Winco. And the Hispanic grocery stores often sell them cheaper. I am expecting great things from that $17 chicken. Decided to just roast it with salt and pepper. Plain. I want to taste the chicken so I know what I have been missing.

What a disappointment! It tasted like...chicken. Not at all different. Shoot for $17 it should have cleaned and stuffed itself and jumped in the oven. I have half of it left. I am going to use it to make green chicken chili. Oh well. Maybe I was expecting too much! I am sure the chili will be great!

A good friend of mine is always extolling fresh eggs. She’s visiting with us and got some. Yes, the yolk is darker but honestly I couldn’t tell the difference in taste. They taste no different from those we buy from Publix.