I'm going to have my VSG converted to a DS! And I'm scared!

Jaimieiola

Hello lovely people,

Can I just say that for the last few hours I have been reading this site and all of the wonderfully supportive and informative posts from people. I'm posting this in this area as it mainly to do with my DS, but as I'm a complete newby to this forum I thought it rude to not give you all some background (if one of the lovely mods needs to move me, I apologise x)

If you would indulge me a little to let you know a bit more about me and my journey so far?

I am 36 years old and have struggled with being SSMO for most of my life (at my heaviest I was BMI 80 and over 500lbs). It's no fun at all. On the NHS I was waiting waiting (being told all the usual poop of "eat less, do more you'll lose weight!") I was approved for having a gastric balloon inserted before having an RNY, well after 7 cancelled appointments I was ready to kill myself. I quite simply did not want to be alive anymore. I saw no purpose for my life, I was a burden. Then my WONDERFUL parents paid for me to have a procedure done privately (at that point I had no idea what would be suggested).

I met with the most amazing surgeon (IMHO) in England, Mr. David Kerrigan - a long drive from one side of England to the other. I did my reaserch on the RNY and went to the appointment armed with all my work. He suggested something I'd never heard of.... A 2 part DS, as I was so big he said it was just safer to do the VSG first so that I could get a big portion of weight off.

In Jan 2010 I went under....

I woke up, literally thanking everybody for saving my life (they still talk about the mad thanking lady today!). That day was the START of my life.