Bile Reflux with SIPS

nicolelynn1986

I had RNY done 7/2014, hernia repair 9/2014, and then a revision to SIPS 3/2015. (I had a very large marginal ulcer that would not heal)

I have always suffered with acid reflux/gerd. With the RNY I had no issues with it.

I am currently 2 months post op of SIPS. My acid reflux has gotten horrible. I've tried 80mg of Prilosec and 60mg of Dexilant. I have been on Prilosec since 2007.

One morning I spit up bile and a dab of blood. It was soo painful. I have never done that before.

So I had a scope done this week. The GI doctor found my esophagus and sleeve is red and irritated. He took a biopsy as well. He suggested to keep taking my meds and to eat smaller meals through out the day. (I've been doing this)

The GI doctor said that my test results will be back in 10 days and to come back in 2 weeks for a follow up. He never said if I had bile reflux.

It always seems to be something...

Is there a fix if I do have bile reflux????

Nicole

Who did your sips surgery?

I'll probably get negative comments for saying this...but there was one doctor, who doesn't do this surgery, who theorized that bile reflux could be a possible downside to this surgery. (Bile reflux and acid reflux being two very different things)
Another doctor, who does do the surgery, said no, it's not at all likely due to the distance of the anastomoses from the pyloric valve and said essentially that unless you had a non functioning or weak pyloric valve that it really couldn't happen.
There has only been one person that I've seen who was diagnosed with actual bile reflux and she had (IMO) a quack surgeon in Mexico (NOT Dr. Ungson) who did this surgery on her (when she thought she was getting a traditional DS) and did God only knows what in there. But he likely made the connection way too close to the pyloric valve. She went to Dr. Ungson and had him revise her to a traditional DS.

Who did your sips surgery?