One year ago I was dying. . .

duh_Mom

One year ago I had surgery in hopes to cure a terminal illness – SMO. I weighed close to 300 and am 5’ 4.5” or 5ft 5” – I have shrunk… used to tell my brothers I was 5 foot 5 and three quarters. . . . My BMI has been over 50 – at surgery time is was high 40’s. I use my starting weight as 296.6 which gave me a BMI of 49ish.

My history:

I was fat all my life – weighed 235 when I graduated high school. Been on every diet and almost every diet pill that was available. My first go at diet pill was 7th grade and yep, Mom took me to the doc to get them.

I am a childhood sexual abuse survivor – was 16 for 2 whole days when my daughter was born.

I have a binge eating disorder. Fought it for years and years . . lost lots of weight several times – 80 pounds, 90 pounds 75 pounds… you all know. I always put it back on plus.

I was dying. I work from home so I was able to eat what I wanted when I wanted and did not have to go out in public. I could eat without anyone knowing I was eating.. in my pea brain it did not count if you could ‘hide it.’. Those 66 inch hips could not be hide but hey. . .

In 2008 after some years of therapy and on the upswing of a weight loss episode I investigated having a lap-band. Thought if I could just lose it again, the band would help me keep it off. So, found a doc close by and went in – told him I did not want my guts rearranged so wanted a band. 6 months of a supervised diet and he fixed me up. I went for my fills as suggested for the first 6 months. Lost 25 pre op and 20 post op.. whew.. rocked it. Think I weighed about 250ish then. At the time I did not want to go to Dr. Boyce because he did surgery where I worked and people would know.