New to Bariaric Facts

jim1969

Hello Everyone-
Just a little bit about me I am a campground owner operator in northern WI. I am married to the most loving person, We have 3 Kids one son and 2 daughters their ages range from 25-15, we also are raising 2 of our grandchildren ages 5 and 3, ! dog a German Shorthair, I love to hunt, Cheer on the Green Bay Packers, Spend time with family and friends.

I have always been overweight my sophomore year I played football at 286 pounds currently at 283. Over the years carrying this extra weight has taken a toll on my body and joints. I have had many surgeries to fix me up over the years including 4 spinal surgeries 3 on my lower back and one on my neck.
So for the last 2 plus years I have been looking into having surgery going to seminars, lurking on forums, and last year started a bariatric program to have the DS.
I did my psych exam, my nutrition classes, visits with my PCP, and now I am ready for surgery but I chose a Dr who ended up doing the bait and switch on me. Needles to say I wasn't going to have any other type of surgery so Im in the process of meeting with Dr Prachand at the University of Chicago on the 9th of April.

I am also on another board and was turned on to this board by Larra. After reading some of the posts I was impressed how everyone helps each other on here and thought it would be a good idea to have another group of DSers to learn from.

Hello and welcome! I am sure you will get any help you need from here.

Which surgeon pulled the bait and switch? That way we can warn others.

Welcome Jim!! Glad you're here and I hope things work out with you at Univ of Chicago. *fingers crossed*