Hi

Daddy Ben

Hi,
I just joined up but have been lurking for a couple of days. I live in Auburn, Alabama with my wife and baby girl. I'm in the process of looking into what surgery and/or surgeon I want right now. I've watched the online seminars for a couple of nearby surgeons for start and have been looking at many locations including here for information on each of the procedures. Im a scientist/engineer by trade so I believe in being well educated before making a big decision. I look forward to talking to you guys and learning a thing or two.

First question for ya'll, is this thread appropriate to start asking questions or should I go to one of the forums to get that started?

Ben

I think you can start asking here, but you may find many of your questions already answered in some of the surgery-specific forums.

If you are looking into getting a DS (and whether you are or not, you SHOULD make sure you know about it before you decide), know that you are going to have to travel for it - there are NO competent DS surgeons in Alabama. You're going to have to go at least as far as Atlanta, or Frisco/Denton TX.

Thank you DiannaCox! I am looking at the gastric sleeve or the DS. I'm 5'11 ~340 so around 47 BMI. I do have sleep apnea and high blood pressure but no other serious comorbidities. I have been looking into Dr. Schmitt in Birmingham for the sleeve. I according to his seminar, they do DS but most Alabama insurance doesn't cover it so they dont do alot of them. All Ive been able to find on his group is positive. I have Bcbs of Virginia (anthem) so thats's not an issue (from what I've read). I've looked into Dr Smith in Atlanta for DS. I think Ive seen where you guys may think he is a decent surgeon but may cherry pick patients.

How can I look into a Dr's history or sanctions and malpractice issues?

Ben