VSG: you're doing it wrong

JackieOnLine

Staff member
I work in healthcare and recently met a woman who had just lost 100 pounds by having a VSG. she was about 6 months out and I can't violate her privacy by describing the situation but I was treating her for something else and here is what I saw: food, all of it crap, all over her room.

pop! crackers! pie! I'm not kidding - if it was a simple carb, she had some. what the hell?

you know what: I spent years, literally, on OH posting things like "there's more than one way to do this" and "you have to find what works for you" - or responding to posters who thought eating saltines was The Evil.

however! when I had a cracker it was part of a larger plan that included WATER and PROTEIN. her plan, I figured out after some careful conversation, was to eat whatever she damn well pleased on the theory that she can "only eat a little bit" - after all, it was working so far. like magic, in fact!

I was not able to get through to her, either. and her family all ate crap and were bringing her stuff that was crap and I think, basically, she will end up regaining every pound. sadly!

I gave it a lot of thought: everything pointing towards failure so what ONE thing could I leave her with that might give her a chance. I decided tracking was it - track your intake. so, gently, I let her know what a difference it could make and how easy it could be and then I repeated that whenever I saw her. She wasn't listening but maybe enough sank in that when she starts to regain she will remember.

Seriously? I don't think she has much of a chance, but if she has any it will be because she starts tracking what she puts in her mouth. Then she has to FACE it and then she can get help. Because what she is doing now will not work, long term.