Surgery in South Africa

Nikki82

Hi all, we dont have many resources out here in SA so I am joining this platform in the hopes of learning from you all.

Im a total newbie. Only four days post op. So far, all is well, besides some pain, I cant complain too much. Lookibg forward to reading and learning.

WELCOME ABOARD!!

Tell us more. Which surgery? J’burg? I don’t recall “meeting” any SA patients and I’ve been hanging around on this/similar boards for 20+ years…so tell all!

Sue

Hi Sue, I'm in Durban. Had surgery with Dr du Toit, Duodenal switch. We have tons of surgeries here but its like taboo to be spoken about. I have no idea why though. Ive managed to connect personally with two patients around my parts. So im very surprised that im not struggling with nausea, could still present ofcourse. All seems to be fine for now, pain aside. Still on clear liquids, hoping to progress to full liquids tomorrow.

Hello and welcome, Nikki82!

sounds like things are going well: are you home or still in the hospital?

We have tons of surgeries here but its like taboo to be spoken about. I have no idea why though.

do you mean any surgery is taboo or just if it is for weight loss? I am puzzled.

Welcome Nikki82
I’m aware of one DS patient who traveled from SA about 10-11 years ago to California to have surgery with Dr. Keshishian. But we’ve kinda lost touch with her over the years.

Hello and welcome, Nikki82!

sounds like things are going well: are you home or still in the hospital?

do you mean any surgery is taboo or just if it is for weight loss? I am puzzled.
Hoping to be released tomorrow. My surgeon is super cautious in all levels.

So just the WLS type of surgeries are not spoken about. Its like they're embarassed to have had it down, people look at them differently. Its sad to have such a narrow mindset. Im in mental health so I get the countries dynamic, just can't agree with it.

Welcome Nikki82