Dr. Hill- Saranac Lake NY

-Flo-

Have any of you heard about Dr. Hill in Saranac Lake NY? I was quoted about 14k for a revision from VSG to DS. That makes him a real contender to compete with Dr. Esquerra who quoted me 8.5K. I would much rather have a US doc, plus I can drive there. It is about a 5hr drive but I feel that is better than a 5hr plane ride. Any input is greatly appreciated!

Never heard of him, but that's not surprising since I'm fairly new to the game. What concerns me is that he is not board certified in bariatric surgery - he is board certified in general and thoracic surgery. That doesn't mean he's not qualified but I'd ask a LOT of questions like:
1. How many DS surgeries has he personally performed
2. What is his complication rate
3. Does he do the traditional DS with TWO anastomoses or a loop DS/SADI/SIPS procedure with a single anastomosis? The latter is NOT a traditional DS (no matter what the doctor may say); there is no long-term data on these procedures and they are still considered experimental.
4. Where is the procedure done
5. How long is the hospital stay and how long would you need to remain in the area following release from the hospital

There are other questions I'm sure, but those are the big ones IMO.

Good luck to you!

ps - IMO the medical care I got with Dr Esquerra is far superior to the care I've gotten in US hospitals

I wrote an email to Dr. Hill before I saw your awesome post @BebeZed. He does the DS with two anastomoses and it is done laproscopically. He works out of the Adirondack Medical Center. He has been doing the DS since 2001.

I have heard of him - but nothing much and not particularly favorable. It's not a big part of his practice, to my knowledge.

I've never heard of him either.

How many does he do every year? Surgeons at the Cleveland Clinic have been doing DS since then... but they only do 2-3 a YEAR. That's not sufficient experience for me.

Also does he do limb length according to the Hess method?