Considering DS but my PCP is horrified

Nosh Spice

Hi all - Joined last week. Appreciate the gold mine of info I'm finding as I continue my research. Thanks to larra for pointing me here.

Age 50, current weight 295, BMI 45. Comorbidities: HBP, sleep apnea. I had a PE in December. Got very lucky. Cause unknown, no genetic factor, no long flights, no hormone therapy.

My dietician - to whom my PCP referred me - is worried about my inability to lose weight on my own. She suggested I investigate DS with Dr. John Rabkin. I had a consult with him July 8. He feels I'm a candidate for DS.

However... my PCP is not on board at all. I met with him today and shared basic info about DS, docs from National Library of Medicine, and Diana Cox's "Conversation with Your PCP." (Which intimidates the heck out of me but I'm not a medical professional.)

He feels the procedure is unsafe given the degree of intestinal bypassing (my words), the risk of malnutrition and other complications that aren't necessarily caused my human error in following the maintenance program, like adhesions. He expressed lots of concern over risk of adhesions.

He did say he would support a gastric bypass (RNY). We've been discussing WLS for at least a year. He's never been a fan esp after my PE. But now he's willing to support RNY. I pointed out that the WL maintenance is less successful with RNY than DS (plus dumping and other RNY cons) but he lectured me a bit on ensuring that safety comes before maintaining weight loss.

So, I think I'm at the point where I need to find another PCP, who is willing to become DS friendly. I'm in the Sacramento, CA area. Any suggestions?

I gotta say he's got me unsure about DS. Like I mentioned, I'm not a medical professional so if I can't find a PCP to partner with, I'm not sure what I will do.

Thanks in advance, Mary

Last edited:
Welcome, @Nosh Spice