Calling all Greenbaum DS patients...

Onelastshot

OK, so I'm going to try to make this as quick of a summary as possible:
My lap band was removed in Jan 2016 due to complications. I was originally scheduled for surgery with Dr. Greenbaum on 12/28/16 but my thyroid was out of whack it was postponed to 3/1/17.

I have read some folks mention about how Dr. Greenbaum is a great surgeon but has poor/insuffiecient post-op nutrition recommendations. I found his nutrition staff unable to answer some of my questions so I'd appreciate any feedback from those who have had him as their surgeon. I have some unusual background that does not make me "fit" with many in this group and I need help...

While I do not have any of the common co-morbidities, I do have celiacs disease, hypothyroidism, genetic iron deficient anemia. I get IV iron infusions about every 3 months bc pills will never, ever get me to normal range. I currently take a high potency D3 vitamin daily as well as a vitamin B Super complex. In my most recent lab work, it showed my vitamin A was slightly high, but my vitamin D is still too low... mind you this is pre-op when I am already taking a high dose vitamin D daily. I also have to do gluten free bc of the celiacs.

Since all DSers need to be hyper vigilant about their nutrition and supplements, and I am already deficient as a pre-op, I am concerned. What are you taking daily? Also, how was your post-op healing as an open DS patient? At what point were you able to move around your house, shower, etc without support? Thanks in advance for the feedback.

OK, so I'm going to try to make this as quick of a summary as possible:
My lap band was removed in Jan 2016 due to complications. I was originally scheduled for surgery with Dr. Greenbaum on 12/28/16 but my thyroid was out of whack it was postponed to 3/1/17.