Saying Hello

srober20

Hey, Im going through the process now to have the duodenal surgery. My doctor recommended this surgery because i have quite a bit of weight to lose. I have my last weigh in the beginning of June. Really anxious about this surgery vs the gastric sleeve. Really needing to talk to real people who's gone through it or getting ready to.
Sonia

Start reading - there are a LOT of DSers here, many of us many years out (almost 12 for me). You are VERY fortunate that your doctor knows about the DS and recommended it for you - most people don't find out about this wonderful option before it's too late.

Hi Sonia,

I am a newbie. I had my surgery just over a month ago. I will be glad to help in any that I can, though. You will find lots of good information and nice people here to help you on your journey.
Just to let you know, I went to the surgeon wanting the sleeve, but the surgeon had a talk with me and showed me why the DS would be better for me, so I know what you are going though.
Best wishes and don't hesitate to ask questions here. There is a lot of good information.

Welcome! Look at my stats below and check out my before and after at 21 months post-op...

Notice that I'm the same size, or smaller than, all the other bridesmaids. For the first time in my life I'm NORMAL. There is nothing that can compare to that feeling after a lifetime of being "the big girl".
754fb1f24ec2620573008a45f6cc7f6b_zps0s24rp8n.jpg

Hey, Im going through the process now to have the duodenal surgery. My doctor recommended this surgery because i have quite a bit of weight to lose. I have my last weigh in the beginning of June. Really anxious about this surgery vs the gastric sleeve. Really needing to talk to real people who's gone through it or getting ready to.
Sonia