Magic Rolls

brooklyngirl

Yankee gone south
I made the Magic Rolls tonight and they worked! I did NOT add the extra egg white, and I only made 9 (they would've been too small for a burger if I made 12). I also rotated the pans half-way through baking, the tray on top would've burned if I hadn't, but I'm a baker and that's what I always do :)
These came out almost exactly like a cream puff, in taste and texture. I just had one with a burger and there was very little taste to it, but it gave the feeling of eating a burger on a bun, which was AWESOME for me. I also used the rest in place of lady fingers to make a low-carb tiramisu. I shall report on that once I see how it comes out! I'll also be making cream puffs very soon :D

http://findingradiance.com/2011/02/24/magic-rolls-eades-low-carb-comfort-foods/

Ingredients:
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 TBSP of water
  • 6 TBSP of butter (3/4 stick)
  • 1/4 cup of white whole wheat flour (or any flour, really)
  • 3/4 cup of vital wheat gluten (Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 3 eggs
  • pinch of salt (my addition)
  • 1 egg white (optional)
Heat oven to 425 F. Line 2 half sheet pans with parchment paper.

Mix water (3/4 cup + 2 tbsp) and butter in a saucepan over medium heat until butter melts and simmers.

In a bowl, mix together the gluten and the flour. Add a pinch of salt if desired.

Add this mixture to the pan and stir and mash until all of the dry material is absorbed.

Remove from heat, let rest for a couple minutes, and beat in the eggs one at a time.

It will seem lumpy after the first egg, but don’t worry about that. Don’t use an electric mixture or you will work too much air into the batter, although a paddle attachment of a stand mixer would work on slow speed.

After mixing in the eggs, the batter should be somewhat stiff, but soft.