Having hard time finding surgeon in my area that does SADI or DS

Cyndi

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here, trying to figure out what surgery is right for me. My problem is I can't seem to find a surgeon near me that does the two surgeries I am interested in, SADI/SIP and DS. I was wondering if any of you had to go a distance (2 hour or more drive) to have your surgery?
Thanks a lot guys!

In Florida, the only surgeon doing the Ds is Dr. Dennis Smith, who recently relocated to Fla from GA. He has an excellent reputation. I couple people here recently had their surgeries with him and I bet if you do a shout out for his patients you will get some responses (though their may be a slight delay due to the holiday).
If you do end up needing to travel, you won't be the only one. Many people have to travel for this surgery, some even out of the country. It's an inconvenience but it can definitely be done, and it's well worth the effort for an operation that you will live with for the rest of your life.

Welcome @Cyndi

Have you considered Dr. Dennis Smith in Celebration, FL.

Many of us have had to travel. Two hours is nothing. I know several who traveled across county, many to other countries, and at least one DSer traveled half way around the world.

Liz

I traveled outside the US (30 hours!!) for my DS and would do it again every year if I had to. I'd likely see what I could finagle as a cash price in the US if I were to do it again today, but I'd still tavel for a DS, rather than get RNY right here. My insurance was willing to pay for RNY right here at home, but I traveled AND self paid, that's how strongly I felt about it.

I'm still leery of SADI and SIPS, in part because because they are too new and there just isn't any data on them yet, but also because they are being misrepresented to potential patients, and possibly insurance to get it covered. If it's a great surgery with a successful record, then this shouldn't be the case.