DS for Diabetes/Dan's Story

Munchkin

Full of Fairy Dust
I posted this on another board a while back. Resolution of type 2 diabetes is one of the big reasons to choose the DS over everything else out there. Dan was my H and we were married for 38 years. I have moved on and now have a great life but I don't want his story to die with him!

Oct 24, 2012 at 12:35pm

Post Oct 24, 2012 at 12:35pm
Dan died almost a year ago and I thought long and hard before posting this. In the end I decided to go ahead because that's what he would have wanted me to do. I hesitated because I didn't want people to think the DS had anything to do with his death. He probably would have died sooner if he hadn't had the DS. He probably would have lasted longer if he would have done it sooner!

Back when dinosaurs still roamed the earth I had my DS. I'm a researcher and a reader from way back and I'm always looking for answers. My H was diagnosed with type 2 in the mid 90's. He most likely had it for a while before he was diagnosed. His family has a truly dismal history of diabetes and heart related issues. They all died from some consequence of diabetes. H was never MO. He was sometimes O but he fought weight constantly because of his family history. He knew becoming fat would be a disaster for him healthwise. After he was diagnosed, he did everything right. No carbs other than green veggies and daily exercise. He walked on that treadmill every day. He hated being diabetic with passion.

He developed the usual co-morbs. Hyperlipidemia, retinopathy, and neuropathy in his feet. He got his HA1C into the normal range with oral meds and strict control of his diet. According to medical science, he was controlling his diabetes perfectly. But his co-morbs just got worse and worse. He was seeing his future as being blind in a wheelchair.