The DS and Lent

Charris

Now an angel
Hey everyone I know lent has just started last week. About 2 months ago my church pastor called for a church wide fast. I bowed out and told them that I could not participate because I had to have meat and still had that darn feeding tube. I just started thinking about all the Catholics of the world and Im sure some of them have had the DS. If you dont care for protein drinks what creative receipes for protein do you use when your religion calls for no meat?

There are special dispensations for the young, old and ill. We are to sacrifice in remembrance, there are other ways to do that.

I am not an expert, I was raised Catholic but I no longer go to mass.

Edited to add: Of course, I love fish and am eating it quite a bit. I am eating salmon right now, that is what made me think of it! Oops, I had leftover Cornish Game Hen for lunch.

Last edited:
Do you mean no red meat on Fridays? That is how I learned it, and how my mom still practices it. Fish Fridays. Jack In the Box always brings back the fish tacos for Lent.

Yes I have an office full of Co workers doing different variations of it. One is doing no meat at all including fish for 40 days. The most of them are doing no red meat for 40 days. A couple are doing no red meat on Fridays only.

All the supermarkets and fast food places have lots of fish specials that "conveniently" came out in the past couple weeks for lent without saying so. I know Greek Orthodox people who fast from all meat, any fish that has blood, and dairy for the entire 40 days. I don't know the reason behind it, but that would be quite unwise for one of us. That basically leaves shellfish, nuts & tofu?

A few years ago, St. Patrick's day fell on a Friday during Lent, the then Pope issued a special dispensation so that we could have corned beef and cabbage.