Reactive Hypoglycemia

catecholamine

Resident Nerd
Welp, I had a few bites of mashed potatoes and 15 mins later, I started getting weak, shaky, very, very sleepy and a bit confused. It progressed from weakness to confusion in a span of about 30 mins. Had a few oz of sugary koolaid and it got better, though I still feel a little weak. I think I have reactive hypoglycemia. I was pre-diabetic before surgery.... I knew this was a possibility, but I am still surprised.
I have a glucose meter but can't for the life of me find it.

What can I do? Just really cut out any carb-dense foods and carry glucose tablets with me? It was the confusion that scared me most. I was looking for a glass to mix koolaid in and I couldn't remember where my glasses were. I kept opening cabinets and they were the wrong ones. I've never done that before.

Unless you're a doctor, please don't diagnosis yourself. If you think it's an emergency, call 911. Otherwise call your doctor tomorrow.

I was going to my doctor tomorrow. But, generally, low blood sugar symptoms after consuming carbs and it being resolved by consuming sugar....I don't think I'm taking a big guess here.

I experience reactive hypoglycemia and I would never treat it by throwing more sugar at it. That would set me up for a never-ending cycle of blood sugar spike/crash/spike/crash..... My personal preference is to avoid it to begin with. Mashed potatoes would not be a trigger for me but if it is for you then you may want to reconsider eating them.

I experience reactive hypoglycemia and I would never treat it by throwing more sugar at it. That would set me up for a never-ending cycle of blood sugar spike/crash/spike/crash..... My personal preference is to avoid it to begin with. Mashed potatoes would not be a trigger for me but if it is for you then you may want to reconsider eating them.