Is it true? CA law requires plastics for post WLS to be covered?

Julie R

I just had a (large, I mean large) ventral hernia repair on Dec. 8, I'm still recovering. Despite escaping post-DS with little extra skin, I now have a scar that looks like mini-blinds and saggy skin covers my bellybutton. I did talk to the surgeon in advance about making sure this didn't happen...but it did.

I posted in a DS forum on Facebook, mentioned my positive recovery with pre and post pics, except for the pleated skin, and someone posted the following:

[name redacted] You should go to Bariatric facts and talk to @Diana and @Larra. California requires post WLS to be covered. State law.

I did read some of the Kaiser law, but as I'm not a trained attorney or paralegal, I'm not sure what it means. I guess I'm asking for a starting point. I'm a grad student, I'd like to be able to have surgery over the summer. And if it is covered, I would like a boob lift, as well.

I have ACA (i.e., Obamacare) with MediCal in California, California Health and Wellness (a managed care plan. So far it's covered everything I've needed both post WLS and other health concerns). (My DS was through employer provided excellent PPO Insurance that I lost when my husband lost his job.). I live in northern CA.

Where do I start? My PCP? Thank you in advance for your help and guidance and support.

Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, Happy Holidays.

Julie

@DianaCox is really the expert on this and a strong advocate as well. It isn't a Kaiser thing, it's a statute in the state of CA. I will let her provide the details as she has the exact wording of the statute and what you would need your plastic surgeon to say to get it covered. Be advised that insurers are still refusing to cover a lot of plastics despite the statute and appeals are often necessary, and even that doesn't always work as it should.