Hi All!

CherylWRN

I'm new to the group, however I have been researching WLS for at least 20 years. Initially for other family and friends then for myself for the last decade.

I have been fat since childhood and began dieting with my Mom by age 8 when puberty hit full force. Restrictions to 30 carbs were the norm. No fruit or juice. No potato, corn, or bread. Every time I lost 10 pounds 15 returned. My current diet of small meals every few hours with total calorie intake less than 1200 daily has caused a weigh gain...ugh.

This has been my life. Now with Lupus, HTN, chronic pain in my joints, back, and neck, FMY, and high weight of 313, DS is the tool I hope will help me. Thanks. Cheryl

I know EXACTLY where I want to go however my family isn't ready. Dr. K. seems like the natural fit.

Hi and welcome!

Family support is great, but the only person who really needs to be ready is YOU. You have some great reasons for bariatric surgery and your history indicates that nothing else will work. And you have certainly tried your best. Make your decision and feel confident that you are doing what is best and right for you.

I know. I'm currently jumping through the hoops with my doctors for the supervised diets also. As a RN, I try to get my ducks in a row. I really do need my hubby to see the upside to the DS for my long term health to improve.

I know. I'm currently jumping through the hoops with my doctors for the supervised diets also. As a RN, I try to get my ducks in a row. I really do need my hubby to see the upside to the DS for my long term health to improve.
IF you are comfortable with him being a member here (and he's willing), he is welcome to join us. My dh is a member (he is also a DS'er tho, we are 5 weeks apart)