Hey everyone! Newbie here with questions :)

Butterfly13

Helllllloooo everyone!

I was referred by a friend to this site and I'm super excited to meet new people and get answers to a lot of questions that I have! I am having a revision surgery from a Lap-Band to the DS. I'm super anxious/nervous/excited about it. I do have quite a few questions because I've read TONS of different responses across the board on other sites so I am curious to see what general consensus in on some things to get a better understand of what the "norm" is. I would be so grateful for any advise and support!

Sooooo.... I just went to my "pre-surgical seminar" and I wanted to ask you all a few questions about your experiences. From what I gather on this site - everyone has had quite a bit of different experiences so it would be helpful to hear what different people went through.

1. Did you stay in the hospital overnight after surgery? If so, how long?
  2. How long was your procedure - start to finish?
  3. How long did you have drains in?
  4. How much weight did you lose BEFORE surgery and in the 1st week after procedure?
  5. When did you have a REAL piece of meat for protein?
  6. Did your surgeon say that it was okay to have gummies for your vitamin intake?
  7. Were you told to only count your "shakes as protein intake and not worry about counting the protein in real food"? IE: Make sure to have 5 protein shakes a day to equal 150g and whatever meats, etc you eat doesn't matter.

For my Virgin DS

1. Surgery on Monday released in Friday.
  2. 3.5 hours
  3. No drains
  4. I didn't track how much check weight I lost pre-surgery because it was irrelevant... I don't remember how much weight I lost the first week. This is not a sprint it is a marathon .
  5. It was a month or two before a solid piece of meat like chicken, but you will eat food within a week... Liquids, then pureed then soft foods.