Hello!

Plume

Hello everyone!

What an incredible source of support and information here! I'm happy that I found you!

As for me, I'm french canadian, 35 and I have a wonderful daughter of 7. I'm a social worker but currently working on my PhD and on a psychotherapist licence to dig in my interest for trauma and homelessness. For the moment, I teach, mainly.

This year will be a year of changes and adaptation, as I'll get a duodenal switch on january 18. I'm 5'1 for 220 lbs. I shed this weight so many time in my life and always were flirting with eating disorder. I came to a point were diet were ineffective and food was an obsession, as it was my way to cope with everything, to reward myself, to punish myself, etc.

Then, after lots of psych work, we made peace. I feel better in my head since I don't diet, but my weight continued to slowly go up, as I hurt my metabolism so much before. I use to say that I would never have a weight loss surgery, and that theres many size to health. However, I feel that my body is not happy with me. My asthma is bad, I have hyperprolactinemia, pseudo-cushings, PCOS... and I don't like the way some people look at me.

So here I am, at 15 days of surgery, switching between happiness and certainty and fear and willingness to cancel it all. But I am ready with my vits, some good knowledge that I will challenge all the way and all my test done, fees paid, etc...

Thanks for welcoming me here!

Anick

P.S.: does any of you know how I can cange my name? My full informations are a bit much and I was inatentive when I created my profile...

Welcome! I lived in your neck of the woods (Montreal) for several years, but sadly I don't speak French. Beautiful city, wonderful people.