Financing

MellyBean1984

If you were self pay and POSSIBLY staying in the US how would you finance the surgery? I know I'm looking at $25-32,000 if no issues arise. My husband has excellent credit so that shouldn't be an issue if we need to apply for a medical loan. But obviously I'm wanting to save as much as possible. Our house is paid off but I'm afraid to put it as collateral. My husband has a good job but the hours might not always be as steady as they are now and I don't want to lose our house. We have a 401K but I'm not quite understanding all of the terms with taking a loan out on it and how much I can expect to pay back. I'm also wondering if it would be possible to get a hardship loan?

I work in the Lending business and the least expensive money you are going to find with be a HELOC - which is a home equity line of credit. You could do a personal loan, but the interest rate will be a couple points higher.

I understand not wanting to use your house, but if you value you credit, which its sounds like you do, you will pay the loan off, so think about why you don't want to use your house.

Also, I had a great experince in Mexico with Dr. Esquerra and so did a ton of other people here, so I would really consider that. Lots of us can talk about it if you want more info, It was 11K for me.

I'm really considering him because I wouldn't have to take out a loan. I could have that money put up before next summer and have all of my travel expenses. Did you use any kind of leave from work? If so did they fill out everything for you? That's been the one question I've asked them and haven't got an answer to. I'm terrified of having surgery here, having a complication then I'm $30,000 in debt from the surgery and $50,000 in debt from the complication. It probably wouldn't happen but if it does I'm screwed. I know I can claim the surgery on taxes but I'm probably not going to get that much of it back, if any!