Dr. Boyce and aftercare

SJB41976

So, I'm not really good at smiling and nodding, and that is what I keep reading for most aftercare for DS, including Dr. Boyce.

So, do they do correct labs? Are they open when you say I want "such and such" lab done? Are they supportive when you say you are following a different vitamin regimen. What exactly is that process like? Do they freak out if something is too high or low or question why you are taking such a high dosage of whatever. Just wanting to know what that is like.

When I have had aftercare before I had to write out a food diary...if I'm eating like a DSer and they think I need to eat like an RNY what comes from that meeting? I don't need anymore guilt. At my old doctor (with the band) they wanted us to eat 400-600 calories a day because that's why RNY are supposed to eat in the losing phase. I thought that was ridiculous, especially since I had all of my stomach and felt HUNGER. lol.

The other stuff I think I could handle, follow-up wise, if it's like most after-care. I won't be going to many meetings because I live out of town.

Any other things you find useful about what you have experienced in aftercare (Boyce or not) I would love to hear it.

Thanks!
Susan

So, do they do correct labs? Are they open when you say I want "such and such" lab done? Are they supportive when you say you are following a different vitamin regimen. What exactly is that process like? Do they freak out if something is too high or low or question why you are taking such a high dosage of whatever. Just wanting to know what that is like.
The labs they pull NOW are a pretty comprehensive list EXCEPT they don't do an a1c or a lipid panel as "your PCP handles that".
They WILL push the vitamins sold by his office but as long as your labs are in good shape, they will accept that you are taking other brands. It's just other brands don't line his pocket.