Decisions...Greenbaum or Boyce

SJB41976

I am still learning/researching/deciding on DS, but I move closer every day to knowing that in order to lose at least 50-75% of my weight and keep it off, I'm going to need a metabolic/malabsorption procedure. Sigh. I am a VSG to DS revision.

I was considering Dr. Greenbaum in NJ because I am self-pay. However, Dr. Stephen Boyce is less than 2.5 hours away and is also vetted.

My question is (and I realize I may find this out through Dr. Boyce's office) but:

Is it a requirement to sign up (and pay) for maintenance program?

I've read his wife is the CEO of some bariatric vitamin powders which they push in his office...I've read they are crappy. Is this also a requirement?

I've read that educating myself on my labs and vitamin/supplement needs and doing it with my PCP would be best.

My question is am I going to be paying for a follow-up/ maintenance program that is useless or can I decline it.

Any other info you have about Greenbaum or Boyce (good or bad) let me know!

Thanks!
Susan

My question is (and I realize I may find this out through Dr. Boyce's office) but:

Is it a requirement to sign up (and pay) for maintenance program?

I've read his wife is the CEO of some bariatric vitamin powders which they push in his office...I've read they are crappy. Is this also a requirement?

I've read that educating myself on my labs and vitamin/supplement needs and doing it with my PCP would be best.

My question is am I going to be paying for a follow-up/ maintenance program that is useless or can I decline it.
Yes, their follow up is required and it is a separate payment. Even if you don't go, you've still paid for it.

Yes, his wife IS the CEO of BariLife which is the vitamin line and pre/post-op meal plan they push in the office. https://www.facebook.com/courtney.j.boyce?pnref=lhc (I am not friends with her so that info is public knowledge).